What is an electronic signature?

An electronic signature is an electronic mechanism that allows the equivalent of a handwritten signature to be appended to an electronic document. This is done by means of cryptography, which involves using a PKI system (a signature certificate ) with a public key and a private key that belong to the signatory. The signature mechanism takes the digital 'fingerprint' of the document to be signed. This 'fingerprint', which is itself a file, is encrypted by the signatory's private key following a predetermined algorithm. For signatures of PDF documents, this encrypted fingerprint is inserted, along with proof of the time (a timestamp issued by a certified authority), and proof of the the certificate signature’s validity (issued by the certificate authority).

The result of an electronic signature can be compared to a hand-stamped wax seal. The wax seal prevents the signed document from being subsequently altered in any way (if it has been changed, the user can see that the seal has been broken). The stamp is the mark of the person who applied it and guarantees the sources authenticity. Therefore, you can be certain about who has signed the document.

Is an electronic signature legally equivalent to a handwritten signature?

In the context of European and Belgian law, an electronic signature, provided certain conditions are adhered to when the signature is applied, is equivalent to a handwritten signature.

In Europe, the 1999 directive on electronic signatures aims to set out the legal framework and the conditions that must be met in order for the electronic signature to be equivalent to a handwritten signature. In Belgium, this directive has been passed into law (9 July 2001).

Identity cards, most notably, were developed from the outset to produce electronic signatures that are legally equivalent to handwritten signatures. Because of the European context, the electronic signature can be used in all of the member states that recognise it by law (each country has created its own national laws, which apply the same European directive of 1999).

What is authentication?

Authentication is the certification of an identity and is verified in real time. Identification is the collection of information about an individual’s identity, linked to the eID card inserted into the reader.

What is a certificate?

An electronic certificate, just like a paper certificate, links the identity of the bearer to his/her personal key. The certificate bearer's public key is written into this certificate. Since the certificate is a piece of public information, it enables third parties to verify with whom a remote connection has been made (authentication), or to find out who generated and signed the document (electronic signature). A certificate can also be used as a container for a public key for encryption/decryption in an asymmetric two-key system.

What is an eID card?

An eID card is an electronic identity card, i.e. first and foremost an identity document that is secure, mainly due to the presence of a chip enabling a number of functions and controls to be conducted.

This chip contains data about the bearer’s identity (everything that is visible on the card, like the address and the photo). This data can be viewed by anyone and are not protected by a PIN code. In addition, the chip contains the certificates and keys that enable two functions: authentication and electronic signature. These functions are protected by a PIN code (in the current version of the Belgian card, the code is the same for both functions).

There are no other functions or any other data on the card, contrary to popular belief: no Schengen Information System data, no medical data, no secret or hidden data, no GPS and no biometric data.

Primarily, the card is only used as a tool for validating a person's identity both in the physical world (by presenting his/her card), and in the electronic world (by authenticating and reading the identity data via a reader). In the electronic world, thanks to authentication, the card also serves as an access key to State sources described as 'authentic'. Authentic sources are State databases containing personal information about an individual. For example: the national register, central databank, national bank, tax-on-web file, social security details, etc.

How is an identity verified with the eID card?

To be read (locally or remotely via the web), an eID card requires the bearer to have a reader and a software package. By using locally installed reading software or an applet executed by a website, the content of an identity card that is not protected by a PIN code can be read. This content can then be used for the appropriate task. Data accessors (a local application or website that reads cards) must of course adhere to personal data protection rules (i.e. have de facto authorisation to process this type of data – for example government authorities, banks, mutual benefit associations, schools, insurance companies, hospitals, etc …or else they must request authorisation).

What is an electronic original?

An electronic original is the electronic equivalent of a hard copy original. As soon as an electronic original exists, the hard copy original is rendered useless or simply ceases to exist. The electronic original, just like a hard copy original, provides the necessary proof of integrity and authenticity. Electronic originals allow the cost of paper, along with the costs of processing and storing it, to be reduced.

Qu’est ce qu’une signature électronique ?

Une signature électronique est un mécanisme électronique permettant d’apposer un équivalent de signature manuscrite sur un document électronique. Pour ce faire on utilise une technique de cryptographie impliquant l’usage d’un système PKI (certificat de signature) avec une clé publique et une clé privée appartenant au signataire. Le mécanisme de signature consiste à prendre l’équivalent d’une empreinte digitale du document à signer. Cette « empreinte », elle-même un fichier, est encryptée par la clé privée du signataire suivant un algorithme prédéfini. Dans le cas d’une signature d’un document PDF, cette empreinte encryptée est alors insérée, avec d’autre part : une preuve de temps (un timestamp émis par une autorité certifiée de temps), et une preuve de la validité du certificat de signature (émis par l’autorité de certification du certificat).
Le résultat d’une signature électronique peut être comparé par analogie à un cachet de cire sur lequel on a appliqué un sceau.Le cachet de cire empêche toute altération ultérieure du document signé (s’il est modifié, le cachet est rompu et on le voit). Le sceau est la marque de celui qui a appliqué le cachet et garantit l’authenticité de la source. On est donc certain de qui a signé le document.

Une signature électronique est-elle légalement équivalente à la signature manuscrite?

Le contexte légal Européen et  belge rend la signature électronique, moyennant certaines conditions d’application de cette signature, tout-à-fait équivalente à la signature manuscrite.
En Europe la directive de 1999 sur la signature électronique a pour objectif de définir le cadre légal et les conditions auxquelles il faut répondre pour assimiler la signature électronique à une signature manuscrite. En Belgique cette directive fut traduite en loi (9 Juillet 2001).
La carte d’identité notamment fut développée dés le départ pour produire des signatures électroniques légalement équivalente à une signature manuscrite. Grâce au contexte européen, la signature électronique est utilisable au travers de tous les pays membres avec cette reconnaissance légale (chaque pays ayant créé ses propres lois nationales qui appliquent la même directive Européenne de 1999).

Qu’est-ce qu’une authentification ?

Une authentification est le fait de certifier une identité. Une identification est la collecte d’information d’identité à propos d’un individu. L’authentification certifie que cette identité de l’individu est bien valable et est bien liée à la carte insérée dans le lecteur.Dans le cadre d’une carte eID, la validité du certificat d’authentification est vérifié en temps réel au moment de l’authentification.

Qu’est-ce qu’un certificat ?

Un certificat électronique, tout comme un certificat papier, fait le lien entre d’une part une identité du porteur et une clé appartenant à ce porteur. En l’occurrence dans un certificat il s’agit de la clé publique du porteur. Le certificat étant une information publique, permet à des tiers de vérifier avec qui une connexion à distance s’établit (authentification) ou permet de savoir par qui provient tel document fut signé (signature électronique). Un certificat peut également servir comme container de clé publique pour de l’encryption/décryption dans un système asymétrique à double clé.

Qu’est-ce qu’une carte eID ?

Une carte eID est une carte d’identité électronique, donc avant tout un document d’identité sécurisé, notamment grâce à la présence d’une puce permettant un nombre de fonctions et de contrôles.
Cette puce contient d’une part des données d’identité du porteur (tout ce qui est visible sur la carte, l’adresse, la photo). Ces données sont librement lisibles et ne sont pas protégées par un code PIN. Par ailleurs la puce contient les certificats et les clés permettant deux fonctions: l’authentification et la signature électronique. Ces fonctions sont protégées par un code PIN (dans la version actuelle de la carte belge, le code est le même pour les deux fonctions).

Il n’y a aucune autre fonctions, ni aucune autre donnée dans le carte, contrairement à certaines croyances populaires : pas de données SIS, pas de données médicales, pas de données secrètes ou cachées, pas de GPS, pas de biométrie.

La carte ne sert fondamentalement que comme un outil permettant de valider une identité aussi bien dans le monde physique (en présentant sa carte), que dans le monde électronique par l’authentification et la lecture des données d’identité via un lecteur. Dans le monde électronique, grâce à l’authentification, la carte sert aussi de clé d’accès vers les sources dites “authentiques“ de l’Etat. Les sources authentiques sont des bases de données de l’Etat contenant des informations à caractère personnel à propos d’un individu. Par exemple : le registre nationale, la banque carrefour, la banque nationale, le dossier fiscal sur tax-on-web, la sécurité sociale, etc.

Comment vérifier une identité avec la carte eID ?

Une carte eID pour être lue (localement ou à distance via le web) requière un lecteur et un logiciel du côté du porteur. Par un logiciel de lecture localement installé ou une applet exécutée par un site web, le contenu de la carte d’identité qui n’est pas protégé par un code PIN peut être lu. Ce contenu peut ensuite être utilisé selon le métier concerné. Les utilisateurs de données (une application locale ou un site web qui lit des cartes) doit bien entendu respecter les règles en matières de protection des données à caractère personnel (c’est-à-dire avoir de facto une autorisation de traiter ce type de données comme les administrations, les banques, les mutuelles, les écoles, les assurances, les hôpitaux, etc. …ou la demander).

Qu’est-ce-qu’un original électronique ?

Un original électronique est un équivalent sous forme électronique d’un original papier. A partir du moment ou un original électronique existe, l’original papier devient inutile ou est simplement inexistant. L’original électronique, tout comme un original papier, fournit les preuves nécessaires d’intégrité et d’authenticité. Grâce à des originaux électroniques une réduction de coûts du papier, de son traitement et de son stockage peut être réalisée.